top of page
  • NRI Herald

The Hindu Monk who gives nightmares to Islamic Jihadis is back, this time with more furor.

News by NRI Herald Australia 11th March 2022

Hindutva Monk Yogi Adityanath

Starting with being the first chief minister of Uttar Pradesh who completed the tenure and came back to power, Yogi Adityanath is also the first BJP leader to get re-appointed as the chief minister.

As Yogi Adityanath and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are all set to ride back to power in Uttar Pradesh, the popular leader of the state has made several records in his first assembly election. He won the Gorakhpur Urban seat.

Starting with being the first chief minister of the state who completed the tenure of 5 years and came back to power, he is also the first BJP leader to get re-appointed as the chief minister. Before him, the BJP had three chief ministers – Kalyan Singh, Ram Prakash Gupta and Rajnath Singh. Neither were they able to complete the term, nor were they re-elected.


Hindutva Yogi Adityanath

This was Adityanath’s first assembly election, even though he won the Lok Sabha polls and is a five-time Member of Parliament. In 2017, when the BJP swept the polls, he took the route to the chief minister’s chair through the legislative council. With the current victory, Adityanath is also the first MLA CM since 2007. Bahujan Samaj Party’s (BSP) Mayawati and Samajwadi Party’s Akhilesh Yadav were also MLCs when they took the charge of the state as the chief minister.

“The BJP is set to create history under PM Modi's leadership. This is a mandate for development and a blessing from the people. The double engine government created a safe environment,” Adityanath said during his victory speech in Lucknow.


With his current term coming to an end, Adityanath will become the third chief minister of Uttar Pradesh to complete the tenure. In Uttar Pradesh, which has witnessed 18 assembly elections since Independence, including the ongoing one, BSP’s Mayawati was the first to complete the term when she was elected in 2007. Akhilesh Yadav became the second chief minister of the state who completed the term after his election in 2012.

Four chief ministers, however, have returned to power in Uttar Pradesh in the past but none of them was in the office for a full five-year term. Narayan Dutt Tiwari was the last Uttar Pradesh (undivided) chief minister to win consecutive terms in 1985. This makes Yogi Adityanath the first chief minister to retain power in 37 years.


Yogi also broke the Noida jinx, said to be at play for at least three decades. In the late 1980s, two CMs — Vir Bahadur Singh and ND Tiwari — lost their jobs just after visiting Noida. However, Adityanath rejected this superstitious belief and repeatedly visited the area.

UP CM on tackling Love Jihad.

“You will accept that we don’t want individuals to lure someone else through deceit and false identity. But, now, we are witnessing the results. Cases after cases are unfolding before us.

Recently, Yogi government in UP have nabbed a huge gang that had its network spread across 25 States. They had targeted deaf and mute Hindu children. This is how expanded their network. First, they targeted the children, followed by their family members. All of this was planned through code messages on WhatsApp. The plan was to turn these children into suicide squad members. If yogi government did not have anti-conversion law in the State, some would have accused us of harassing a particular community.

Our vision proved to be right as more and more cases are coming to light,” Yogi Adityanath said on grooming Jihad and population control bill.

He clarified that the government’s move was not linked to electoral politics.

bottom of page